Back to All Events

Górecki Chamber Orchestra - London Début Concerts

  • Devonia Parish 2 Devonia Road London, N1 8JJ United Kingdom (map)

Celebrating the 330th anniversary of Johann Sebastian Bach and the launch of the Górecki Chamber Orchestra.


Henryk Mikołaj Górecki
Three Pieces in Old Style (1963)

Johann Sebastian Bach
Keyboard Concerto in A-Major, BWV 1055

Henryk Mikołaj Górecki
Piano Concerto, Opus 40

Johann Sebastian Bach
Concerto for Two Violins in d-minor, BWV 1043

Benjamin Britten
Simple Symphony, Op. 4 (1934)


The newly formed G.C.O. will open with Górecki's haunting Three Pieces in Old Style, reaching back to the music of medieval Poland. His electrifying and relentless Concerto written for amplified Harpsichord or Piano (this time performed on Piano) is an incredibly unusual piece of music in juxtaposing incredible percussive and unrelenting force with a singing timelessness and exuberant joy. The concerto also exemplifies that unique quality of this great composer of achieving a powerful and universal expression through simplicity.

Sandwiched between the Górecki and the last work we will perform two shining works by Johann Sebastian Bach, marking his 330th anniversary year.  Both the A-Major Keyboard Concerto and the famous Concerto for Two Violins exemplify his sensitivity for beauty and genius in his crucial role developing the concerto form. 

The concert will conclude with famous 'Simple Symphony' by one of the greatest British composers, Benjamin Britten. Based on themes written by Britten in his childhood this charming work is full of humour, passion and virtuosity all within a miniature form of four short movements.